May 19, 2008 at 11:37 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

First of all, thanks very much to Robin of Vegan Planet for giving me an honorable mention in her couscous cake contest!! I feel honored! The other couscous cakes look really amazing, and I can’t wait to try those recipes!

This past week has been kind of busy, and I have eaten out several days in a row. When I first became vegan, I thought that it would be incredibly difficult to eat out, but I’ve learned that it’s easier than I thought– you just have to know where to go. Some places it’s easier than others (I’ve been stuck in some kind of remote places recently where the only good option was a veggie delite sandwich at Subway), but it’s actually pretty easy when you can go to either Chinese, Mexican, Indian, or Thai restuarants. Just make sure to ask for vegetarian beans (and no cheese), and ask the server to hold any fish sauce, butter, or other animal-based ingredient that might be added to veggie dishes.

I’ve gotten used to being vigilant about what I eat, and scouring the menu for appropriate food items. So, I was thrilled this week when, at an Indian restuarant, I found a “Vegan Thali” (large platter) on the menu!! I think this was the first time I’ve ever come across a dish specifically labeled as vegan, in a non-vegan restaurant. I was ecstatic! And, it was incredibly delicious: rice, bread, vegetable dumplings and potato fritters (sorry, I don’t know the correct Indian word!), chickpea curry, broccoli and potatoes, some dipping sauces and chutney. It was so delicious! Of course, the plate was huge, so I had leftovers for lunch the next day.

Scott ordered a vegetarian dish, the Mushroom Vindaloo.

I hope to be able to do more cooking this week. It’s been really hot here in Northern CA, so I’m hoping to buy an ice cream maker and try some recipes for vegan ice cream that I’ve seen on other blogs/forums. So hopefully I’ll have some more recipes and pictures to share later this week!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

