Pizza

May 9, 2008 at 9:27 am | Posted in Vegan Recipes | 2 Comments
Tags:

I made pizza the other night, and it was quite a success! I had it along with the couscous cake, and a nice glass of wine. Scott said this was the best meal he’s eaten in a long time!

I made the basic pizza dough recipe from Mediterranean Vegan Kitchen (using 1/2 whole wheat, 1/2 white pastry flour), and added a bunch of toppings. I didn’t have any tomatoes (or tomato paste or tomato sauce) in the house, and I didn’t have enough olive oil to make pesto, so I had to be creative!

I had some marinated mushrooms, so I sliced up the mushrooms and added crumbled tofu to the liquid the mushrooms came in. I added a little vinegar, about 1 tsp olive oil, some oregano, paprika, and garlic powder, and about 1 tbsp ketchup (to try to add a little tomato flavor!). I let it all marinate while I made the dough, and then I assembled the pizza: vegan “pepperoni” slices, the tofu-mushroom mix, fresh basil, and nutritional yeast sprinkled on top. It was quick and easy to make; it was done after baking for about 25 minutes! And it was delicious!!

And, here are some more pictures of my cats (because my cats are just so cute, and b/c Amie requested more cat pictures!) 🙂

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. Yummy lookin’ pizza!! Wiley is insatiable for the cat pics 😉 He is still asking for more! Yours look like lighter versions of ours – we have an orange tabby mix & a grey siamese/tabby mix. They snuggle just like that too. 🙂

  2. Heh!! Glad he liked the cat pics! I’ll post some more sometime. That’s funny; your cats sound like they look very similar to ours! Our little cat might be part siamese or something too. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

