Couscous Salad

April 29, 2008 at 11:16 am | Posted in Vegan Recipes | Leave a comment
Tags: , , ,

Last night I made a really simple couscous salad. I’m sure it’s not very original, but it was delicious!! I used Israeli couscous (the first time I’ve tried cooking it). I think this kind of couscous will become a staple food item for me; it was really good! More substance than regular couscous, and more fun than regular pasta!

For the couscous salad, I used:

  • 2 cups Israeli couscous
  • 3 cups water
  • 1 cup marinated mushrooms, with some of the liquid (I got the mushrooms at an olive bar at the grocery store… olives would work well with this too!)
  • 1 cucumber, diced
  • 1 can of chickpeas
  • juice of one lemon
  • about 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • salt & pepper

Since this was my first time making this kind of couscous, I may have not gotten the proportions of water to couscous quite right. When the couscous was cooked, there was still a little extra water left, so I just drained it out.

One of my friends on a vegetarian/vegan forum I post on suggested that I could use “faux feta” in this salad also. I think that’s a fantastic idea! (Crumbled tofu, marinated in olive oil, and whatever herbs you like…. sage, oregano, paprika, etc.). Unfortunately I didn’t have any tofu on hand last night, but next time I make this I’ll definitely make it with the faux fata. Next time I might add more veggies also… carrots, tomatoes, parsley….

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

