Spinach and Curry for Breakfast!

April 10, 2008 at 9:02 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Last night Scott and I went out to eat supper, and found the farmer’s market in full swing a few streets down from the restaurant. We didn’t really need to buy anything (we’d already bought groceries for this week), but it’s always so much fun to wander through and look at all the delicious fresh fruits and veggies for sale.

As we wandered through and looked at the produce, someone came up and offered us a sample of Afghani food that he was selling. I declined (the sample had a big dollop of yogurt on top), but Scott ate it and he said it was delicious! I felt really bad for refusing the free sample; I hate hurting people’s feelings. So I went up to the stall to see what they were selling, and it all looked amazing! And to my surprise, a lot of it was vegan! I tried a sample of a red lentil curry, and it was really good! So Scott and I bought some spinach bolani and some lentil curry. And the guy threw in (literally, threw in our bag as we were leaving), some more flat bread. So nice!

So, I’m having spinach and curry for breakfast today! I was super excited to see that both things are vegan! The ingredients listed on the curry are: roasted red lentils, tomato, onion, olive oil, curry, salt, and spices. The ingredients for the spinach bolani are: unbleached flour, spinach, green onion, cilantro, soybean oil, salt, and spices. They are both delicious; spinach is one of my all-time favorite foods, and this lentil curry is just phenomenal!! So spicy, and so good!

I can’t believe that I have never had any Afghani food before. I normally consider myself to have somewhat of an adventurous palate, but I don’t think I even know what any typical Afghani dishes are. Now, though, I’m determined to go out and find some Afghani restaurants! I love this food!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

